log in | register | forums
Show:
Go:
Forums
Username:

Password:

User accounts
Register new account
Forgot password
Forum stats
List of members
Search the forums

Advanced search
Recent discussions
- PinBoard 2.05 released (News:2)
- Rougol Talk July 2024 - Nathan Atkinson (News:2)
- Rougol August 2024 meeting on monday (News:)
- Rougol July 2024 meeting on monday (News:2)
- Sunday coding session with Gerph on Sunday (News:1)
- Livestream coding session with Gerph this sunday (News:2)
- WROCC July 2024 meeting - Draw/ROD double bill (News:)
- WROCC July 2024 meeting on... Hughes and Peter Richmond (News:)
- July developer 'fireside' chat is on saturday night (News:)
- June 2024 News Summary (News:)
Related articles
- PinBoard 2.05 released
- Drag'n'Drop 13i3 edition reviewed
- WROCC Newsletter Volume 41:11 reviewed
- Drag'n'Drop 13i2 edition reviewed
- Timerun from Amcog games released
- RISCOSbits updates FAST ROM
- WROCC Newsletter Volume 41:10 reviewed
- The Book of Draw Stuff reviewed
- WROCC Newsletter Volume 41:9 reviewed
- WROCC Newsletter Volume 41:8 reviewed
Latest postings RSS Feeds
RSS 2.0 | 1.0 | 0.9
Atom 0.3
Misc RDF | CDF
 
View on Mastodon
@www.iconbar.com@rss-parrot.net
Site Search
 
Article archives
The Icon Bar: News and features: Drag'n'Drop 12i3 edition reviewed
 

Drag'n'Drop 12i3 edition reviewed

Posted by Mark Stephens on 05:42, 23/5/2023 |
 
the Spring edition of Drag'n'Drop magazine was released to coincide with the Wakefield Show (sadly the Editor was unable to attend). It's another 32 edition of news, reviews, tools and lots of coding!


 
The news section has lots of useful links. Given one of the 'items', I suspect the original target publication date was the start of April.
 
In this edition, there is an in-depth review of 3D Turbo Boost from AmCog games. The reviewer clearly had a great time testing the game, especially being able to drive in an indestructible car. A second article goes behind the scenes and explains the ideas behind the game and how it works.
 
There is a graphics article explaining what Einstein tiles are (and the Maths behind them).
 
Each edition usually has a selection of programs. This time there is a useful little utility called 'Draw to Jpegs' which converts a directory of Draw files into JPEG images. We also have a BBC Basic game called 'Leaky Roof' and a Tesellation editor for 8 bit machines. As usual the code is featured and explained. You can also buy the programs already typed in.
 
The series on the Icon Bar (which I now know from the article is a Window with no furniture) now shows us how to create our own funky custom Icon Bar at the bottom.
 
Finally, our Oz columnist has been playing with GPIO pins from BBC Basic.
 
The next edition is due out at the start of August. I can't wait!
 
website
 
  Drag'n'Drop 12i3 edition reviewed
  svrsig (09:18 23/5/2023)
  markee174 (15:17 23/5/2023)
 
Chris Hall Message #125447, posted by svrsig at 09:18, 23/5/2023
Member
Posts: 41
I have a utility that will convert a directory of Impression files (or Draw files) into a directory of PDFs. It was written up in Impression Newsletter No. 2 at http://www.svrsig.org/News2.pdf
  ^[ Log in to reply ]
 
Mark Stephens Message #125448, posted by markee174 at 15:17, 23/5/2023, in reply to message #125447
Does all the
work around here

Posts: 144
Very nice!
  ^[ Log in to reply ]
 

The Icon Bar: News and features: Drag'n'Drop 12i3 edition reviewed