log in | register | forums
Show:
Go:
Welcome
The Icon Bar is the longest running RISC OS portal. The sensibilities that Acorn instilled in us still influence our interests and writing.

Buy swag
Got news?
Let us know!
A9home review
A9home review
We give our opinion on the A9home.
Subscriptions RSS Feeds
RSS 2.0 | 1.0 | 0.9
Atom 0.3
Misc RDF | CDF
Podcasts
Subscribe | iTunes | List
Latest MP3
Site Search
 
Article archives

Drag'n'Drop 11i1 edition reviewed

Posted by Mark Stephens on 07:58, 22/11/2021 |
 
The latest edition of Drag'n'Drop (now into Volume 11) was released at the recent London Show. Drag'n'Drop is a long-running quarterly RISC OS magazine published electronically as a PDF file. So you you can read it any Computer system. It reminds me of the 90s style Acorn magazines and is a mixture of news, reviews, listings, and tutorials. You can buy the listing already typed in.

 
Continue reading "Drag'n'Drop 11i1 edition reviewed" | Comment in the forums

Amcog Games Haunted Tower Hotel Released

Posted by Mark Stephens on 08:32, 8/11/2021 |
 
The latest game from Amcog was launched at the London Show with Tony and Sophia in appropriate costume (and they sold out of copies). It is a platform game, which runs on pretty much any modern RISC OS system (including emulation) and involves lots of challenging mazes with a nice intro plot, lots of spooky music and interactive ghosts. The game can be played from keyboard or joystick. I have a copy on my Titanium, but it is certainly harder to play than Sophia made it look at the Show.
 
 
Continue reading "Amcog Games Haunted Tower Hotel Released" | 1 comment in the forums

'The Application Tutorial and Listings Book for RISC OS computers' reviewed

Posted by Mark Stephens on 08:26, 3/11/2021 |
 
As well as publishing a quartely magazine, Drag'n'Drop has been creating a range of books for RISC OS. Their latest release is 'The Application Tutorial and Listings Book for RISC OS computers'
 
Continue reading "'The Application Tutorial and Listings Book for RISC OS computers' reviewed" | 1 comment in the forums

PinBoard 2.0 reaches Alpha9

Posted by Mark Stephens on 06:38, 5/10/2021 |
 
The replacement PinBoard module (designed to be a backwards compatible repalacement for the existing module but also add lots of new features) has now reached version alpha9. I have been running previous versions on my Titanium for some time, so updated to the latest version.
 
Continue reading "PinBoard 2.0 reaches Alpha9" | 2 comments in the forums

September Rougol talk by Bernard Boase

Posted by Mark Stephens on 20:25, 20/9/2021 |
 
Tonghts talk was another hybrid online /offline event with most people attending via Zoom.
Bernard's talk grew out of his Archive article comparing several RISC OS distros.
 
Continue reading "September Rougol talk by Bernard Boase" | 1 comment in the forums

Archive 25:4 reviewed

Posted by Mark Stephens on 15:52, 13/9/2021 |
 

 
Archive 25:4 (August/September 2021) has arrived. This is another 56 page monster, full of news, reviews and articles. The large number of colour screenshots makes it feel even longer. I think Jim Nagel would very much approve of the high production standards of his successor. The list of authors (both new and familiar) in this edition is also very encouraging.
 
Continue reading "Archive 25:4 reviewed" | 1 comment in the forums

TextEase updated to 5.99

Posted by Mark Stephens on 06:13, 9/9/2021 |
 
Since moving to its new home at Elesar, the RISC OS version of !TextEase has seen regular new releases and an updated manual. v5.97 was released January 2021 (read our review), v5.98 is February and the latest version is 5.99 (August 2021).
 
Continue reading "TextEase updated to 5.99" | Comment in the forums

Drag'n'Drop 10i6 reviewed

Posted by Mark Stephens on 06:07, 2/9/2021 |
 

 
The latest Drag and Drop (10i6) is now available for download. If you have not come across Drag'n'Drop before (where have you been hiding?), it is a long-running online RISC OS Magazine, currently edited by Chris Dewhurst. It is reminiscent of the 1990s style Acorn magazines and features programs to type in (which you can also buy to save the typing).
 
Continue reading "Drag'n'Drop 10i6 reviewed" | Comment in the forums

DPlingScan revisited

Read article... | 4 comments in the forums

!Fuse 1.57 reviewed

Read article... | 2 comments in the forums

Iris July update

Read article... | 2 comments in the forums

FOURtress reviewed as a Linux machine

Read article... | 1 comment in the forums

TextEase Reviewed - Turtle Graphics

Read article... | 1 comment in the forums

FOURtress reviewed as a RISC OS machine

Read article... | Comment in the forums
Recent discussions
- AMCS free versions are live! (Gen:28)
- RISC OS London Show 2021 - Notes from the talks (News:1)
- Free Substitute Soccer game available on !Store (News:)
- Drag'n'Drop 11i1 edition reviewed (News:)
- November News round-up (News:3)
- November News round-up (News:4)
- Rougol November talk - RISC OS Pyromaniac update (News:16)
- 'The Application Tutorial ...ISC OS computers' reviewed (News:1)
- New Iris October release (News:1)
- Rougol's November talk is on Monday (News:1)
Services
- Free ads
- Web hosting
Sites we like
- Ganymede & Titan
- Daring Fireball
- Ars Technica
- Kotaku
- pagetable.com