log in | register | forums
Show:
Go:
Welcome
The Icon Bar is the longest running RISC OS portal. The sensibilities that Acorn instilled in us still influence our interests and writing.

Buy swag
Got news?
Let us know!
Wii channels reviewed
Wii channels reviewed
How Nintendo plans to keep you turned on and tuned in
Subscriptions RSS Feeds
RSS 2.0 | 1.0 | 0.9
Atom 0.3
Misc RDF | CDF
Podcasts
Subscribe | iTunes | List
Latest MP3
Site Search
 
Article archives

September Rougol talk by Bernard Boase

Posted by Mark Stephens on 21:25, 20/9/2021 |
 
Tonghts talk was another hybrid online /offline event with most people attending via Zoom.
Bernard's talk grew out of his Archive article comparing several RISC OS distros.
 
Continue reading "September Rougol talk by Bernard Boase" | Comment in the forums

Archive 25:4 reviewed

Posted by Mark Stephens on 16:52, 13/9/2021 |
 

 
Archive 25:4 (August/September 2021) has arrived. This is another 56 page monster, full of news, reviews and articles. The large number of colour screenshots makes it feel even longer. I think Jim Nagel would very much approve of the high production standards of his successor. The list of authors (both new and familiar) in this edition is also very encouraging.
 
Continue reading "Archive 25:4 reviewed" | Comment in the forums

TextEase updated to 5.99

Posted by Mark Stephens on 07:13, 9/9/2021 |
 
Since moving to its new home at Elesar, the RISC OS version of !TextEase has seen regular new releases and an updated manual. v5.97 was released January 2021 (read our review), v5.98 is February and the latest version is 5.99 (August 2021).
 
Continue reading "TextEase updated to 5.99" | Comment in the forums

Drag'n'Drop 10i6 reviewed

Posted by Mark Stephens on 07:07, 2/9/2021 |
 

 
The latest Drag and Drop (10i6) is now available for download. If you have not come across Drag'n'Drop before (where have you been hiding?), it is a long-running online RISC OS Magazine, currently edited by Chris Dewhurst. It is reminiscent of the 1990s style Acorn magazines and features programs to type in (which you can also buy to save the typing).
 
Continue reading "Drag'n'Drop 10i6 reviewed" | Comment in the forums

DPlingScan revisited

Posted by Mark Stephens on 08:32, 23/8/2021 |
 
It is always exciting to discover a (new to you) piece of software. I had never really looked at David Pilling's DPlngScan before as I use my Mac for all scanning. But it turns out that the software is actually very much more than just a scanner Utility.
 
Continue reading "DPlingScan revisited" | 4 comments in the forums

!Fuse 1.57 reviewed

Posted by Mark Stephens on 08:14, 5/8/2021 |
 
One of the exciting developments from the RISC OS Cloverleaf project has been the release of a much more modern version of the Fuse Sinclair Spectrum emulator to run on modern RISC OS machines.
 
Continue reading "!Fuse 1.57 reviewed" | 2 comments in the forums

Iris July update

Posted by Mark Stephens on 07:44, 12/7/2021 |
 
The last time we looked at Iris was the April release (1.010), and the Developers have been very busy since then.
 
Continue reading "Iris July update" | 2 comments in the forums

FOURtress reviewed as a Linux machine

Posted by Mark Stephens on 08:08, 8/7/2021 |
 
In my previous 2 articles I gave my first impressions of the FOURtress and Reviewed the FOURtress as a RISC OS machine. This time we look at it for Linux (interacting with RISC OS).
 
Continue reading "FOURtress reviewed as a Linux machine" | 1 comment in the forums

TextEase Reviewed - Turtle Graphics

Read article... | 1 comment in the forums

FOURtress reviewed as a RISC OS machine

Read article... | Comment in the forums

Organizer updated to 2.29a

Read article... | Comment in the forums

MoreDesk software goes free

Read article... | 2 comments in the forums

First impressions of the RISCOSbits FOURtress

Read article... | 3 comments in the forums

PiTools reviewed

Read article... | Comment in the forums
Recent discussions
- Arculator updated to add A...on and more podule support (News:5)
- Don't forget your birthday this year (Gen:9)
- September Rougol talk by Bernard Boase (News:)
- Monday night is Rougol Sep...k on RISC OS distributions (News:)
- Archive 25:4 reviewed (News:)
- TextEase updated to 5.99 (News:)
- DPlingScan revisited (News:4)
- Drag'n'Drop 10i6 reviewed (News:)
- Are you signed up for the Acorn News Service? (News:4)
- August News round-up (News:)
Services
- Free ads
- Web hosting
Sites we like
- Drobe
- Daring Fireball
- pagetable.com
- Kotaku
- Ars Technica